review Alice’s Secret (Mill Valley Girls #2) ☆ eBook ePUB or Kindle PDF

characters Alice’s Secret (Mill Valley Girls #2)

review Alice’s Secret (Mill Valley Girls #2) ☆ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF ¶ The second gripping novel from the author of Ella’s Journey prepare to be captured by the story of Alice Alys’s life hasn’t uite turned out the way she thought By now she should be married have children and working in a carNg at the local cotton mill She enjoys her job until she suddenly begins to attract the wrong attention A beautiful and heart breaking novel that brings the past and present together in a gripping story of love loss and hope Perfect for fans of Rosie Clarke and Tracy Ree. A pleasant dual time line read

review ´ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF ´ Lynne Francis

L the wrong choices Escaping to Yorkshire to help out her aunt by baking cakes and cookies for her café might be just the change she needs Only to uncover a long buried family mystery one that Alys can’t let go 1890s Alice is the sole bread winner for her family worki. Alice is a young girl in the 1890s working in a cotton mill in Yorkshire when she attracts the attention of an unsuitable man Alys is at a crossroads in her life when she goes home to Yorkshire to help her Aunt in the bakery and while there she becomes fascinated by the story of her great great grandmother Alice and all the old family secrets A very enjoyable book I always like stories with two timelines and this one worked very well and the author had obviously done a lot of research on the cotton mills and how the workers would live in this time

Lynne Francis ´ 8 review

Alice’s Secret Mill Valley Girls #2The second gripping novel from the author of Ella’s Journey prepare to be captured by the story of Alice Alys’s life hasn’t uite turned out the way she thought By now she should be married have children and working in a career she loves How did she end up making al. This is the second book in the Mill Valley Girls series; however we can read it as a standalone bookLet me start off by what I liked in the story Firstly I liked the shift in story lines between the past and the present and how they are all connected to each other It was interesting to see how Alys tries to discover what happened to Alice many years ago given her limited resources Also the author does a really nice job in setting the landscape and beauty of Yorkshire and the cafes and made me want to visit such an idyllic placeHaving said that this book was average and not memorable My main issue with the story is in its pacing I found the story to be way too lengthy with a lot of unnecessary details For instance I did not need a constant reminder of how Alys loves fancy china cups Nor on how she goes around town repeatedly looking for antiuesIn fact other than the scenes where Alys tries to find out what happened to Alice I felt Alys story very boring Moreover even the supporting characters like Rob Aunt Moira and Tim etc feel very generic and there is nothing that makes them stand out I liked Alice’s story line in itself and thought the booked could have focused only on her Some of the scenes are pretty dramatic and you wonder if Alys will get together with Richard or not Williams felt like a potential villain but we do not see much of himOverall “Alice’s Secret” is a somewhat charming tale but again I felt like the author could have easily shortened it Like I said my main issue with the story was in the lengthy way in which it was written and due to this I feel uncertain about picking up the other books in the series