Dr J AUTHOR Julius Erving Summary ´ 104

Read Dr. J AUTHOR Julius Erving

Dr. J AUTHOR Julius Erving Summary ´ 104 Í At long last a high flying American legend comes cown to earth to tell his life storyWith flights of improvisation around the basket and his towering afro Julius Erving became one of the most charismatic and revolutionary players basketball has ever known A cool acrobatic showman his flamboyant dunFrom perfect In Dr J Erving goes on the record about the personal problems he faced and sometimes created He speaks frankly about his career and the game; the adulterous affair that produced a daughter professional tennis player Alexandra Stephenson; his 20 year old son's tragic death; and the heartbreaking dissolution of his longtime marriage and its aftermath Poignant and surprising Erving's story traces the inner lives of the nearly perfect player and the imperfect man and how he has come to terms with bot. A great story told through the experience of one of the true heroes of our age It took a lot of courage and faith to live this life and to share it with the rest of usThank You Julius

Julius Erving ✓ 4 Summary

At long last a high flying American legend comes cown to earth to tell his life storyWith flights of improvisation around the basket and his towering afro Julius Erving became one of the most charismatic and revolutionary players basketball has ever known A cool acrobatic showman his flamboyant dunks sent him to the Hall of Fame and turned the act of jamming a basketball through a hoop into an art form winning the admirations of fans sportscasters and opponents including Bill Walton Magic Johnson Larry Bird a. As a huge fan of the game of basketball and the NBA in particular I was incredibly excited to read Dr J’s autobiography At the end of this lengthly book 423 pages the best word to describe how I feel about it is conflictedDr J is a very detailed account of Erving’s life and very accomplished career For fans of ABA and NBA history this book is especially fascinating The book goes back and forth between Erving’s personal life and his relationship with basketball Reading about Erving’s take on what was going on culturally politically and racially in America as he was growing up was very interesting His stories about teammates and opposing players in both the ABA and NBA were also illuminating It’s always interesting to me to get another perspective on basketball from behind the curtain and to hear the human stories about some of the games greatest players Without uestion my knowledge of the history of professional basketball was expanded through reading this bookMy feeling conflicted is not so much with the book as much as is it with Erving himself and his admission of rampant promiscuity and infidelity for virtually his whole life Yes he admits his mistakes and weaknesses literally from the very start of the book but for any of us that’s the least we can do when our actions hurt and damage others What makes me feel so conflicted is that none of us are perfect “He who is without sin among you let him be the first to throw a stone” while at the same time you just feel so bad for those who were hurt by those decisions So in no way am I or can I judge him but as you read the book you definitely feel the hurt and tensionAt the end of the day Dr J will be an interesting read primarily for fans of Julius Erving and professional basketball Hands down Dr J is one of the greatest and most dominant players to ever step onto the court and a history of professional basketball without mentioning Dr J would be incomplete So for the story on the life of one of basketballs greats and a detailed account of a very important era of basketball history this is a great bookBlog wwwjonathanstephenswordpresscomTwitter jonstephensNY

characters Ê PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook ✓ Julius Erving

Dr. J AUTHOR Julius ErviNd Kareem Abdul JabbarBut while the public has long revered this cultural and sports icon few have ever known of the double life of Julius Erving There is Julius the bright inuisitive son of a Long Island domestic worker who wanted to be respected for than just his athletic ability And there is Dr J the balletic baller who transformed the game and inspired a generation of superstars including Michael Jordan Kobe Bryant and LeBron JamesDespite the pristine image put forward in his endorsement deals he was far. This book gave me much than I was expecting so thank you Doc I find Erving thoughtful and reflective a bit of a skirt chaser but also charming In other words complex and very very human And low key this is a first gen story as well This theme is evident in part one which focuses on his youth and aspiration to go to college so that he can rise this theme appears freuently out of his circumstances In fact it doesn't even occur to him that basketball can be a profession and Julius has much anxiety about this decision as he had promised his mother that he would earn a college degree His first genness resurfaces in part 3 when he is a family man and he reflects upon the decisions that he makes as a parent of children who have many opportunities than he did Was he too lenient Did he give them too much The highlight for me is his descriptions of the ABA You can tell that he was thriving during this period as the tone is light and playful His teammates included a crazy cast of characters particularly Wendell Radner whom I had never heard of before And there's one scene involving Super John Williamson that nearly had me in tears I could easily see this book being produced into a movieAnd a word about the format there are times when the language is uite poetic I also like that the chapters vary in length one of them is only a sentence long Very well done overall